Search Go
Chirac Foundation Jury convenes
Paris, 14 September 2011  -- Serageldin meets tomorrow, 15 September, with the jury committee members of the Chirac Foundation to select a winner for the Chirac Foundation Prize for the Prevention of Conflicts. The selection is to be made after meeting with a committee of experts who propose a list of individuals or institutions that have taken exemplary and urgent action towards prevention of clash in areas of potential conflict. The jury will also select a winner for the Special Jury Prize which is awarded to one or more publicly recognized figures. The award ceremony will be held in November at Musée du quai Branly, Paris.

The jury, presided by Jacques Chirac, Former President of France and President of the Fondation Chirac, is composed of personalities who have worked for peace and dialogue: Boutros Boutros Ghali, Former Secretary General of the United Nations; Michel Camdessus, Former Managing Director of The International Monetary Fund; Joaquim Alberto Chissano, Former President of Mozambique; Federico Mayor, Former Director General of UNESCO; Jorge Sampaio, Former President of Portugal; Simone Veil, Member of the Académie française; Vaira Vike Freiberga, Former President of the Republic of Latvia; and Ismail Serageldin.

Serageldin is also a member of the Honor Committee of the Chirac Foundation, which consists of people of diverse experience and culture, who have all played an eminent role, in their respective countries or at the head of international organizations, towards the cause of peace and development.

The Library of Alexandria P.O. Box 138 – Chatby, Alexandria 21526 , Egypt     Phone: +(203)-4839999 Fax: +(203)-4820450   Email: